I realize I usually write something about my home town or the Island I’ve grown up on but today I thought it would be fun for you the Readers of my blog to learn a little about me, the author of the Blog Candace’s Corner.

I’m a 31 year old young woman who was born in Comox and I grew up in Qualicum Beach with my parents and two sisters.

I moved to Victoria at the young age of 19. I moved to Victoria to attend Camosun College, I enrolled and graduated from the program “Hotel and Restaurant Management”. I graduated from that in 2008. Shortly before I graduated from that program I gave birth to my first born Annalise. I gave birth to my second child, Jaxson in 2011. I wanted to have my children approx. 2 years apart in hopes that they would be close friends, and so far they are that. They are often hooked at the hips and happily playing together. I then became a stay at home mom for the next 9 years or so. Their dad and I had a very amicable break up when they were very little. So from the time they were 2 and 4 I’ve been living on my own with them. They still have a very active part of their dad’s life and he is an Amazing father.

For the first couple of years that we were living just the 3 of us I had my own “at home daycare.” Then as the kids got older I started finding more work outside the house. I eventually went back to waitressing, and I also worked at a nightclub on the weekends for 2.5 years. I then went on to also working at my now favorite job “GP’s Donair and Pizza” as well as I started my own mini home cleaning business. My super awesome friend/blogging Mentor Manny and his wife Leaoni saw me starting to burn out from my multiple jobs, so they offered me a job to start writing for them once a week. What I love about this opportunity is that it allows me to write my weekly blog whenever and wherever I want. I jumped on this opportunity because it allowed me to leave my late night bar job. It also gave me the opportunity to grow as a writer. Ever since I was about 8 years old I’ve written a journal. So I had a hunch that this was right up my alley. I am eternally grateful for this opportunity, 8 months later and I am still loving this job. I am actually writing this entry all the way from Ontario. I visit Ontario approx once every month or every 1.5 months to visit my boyfriend who lives here.

What things do I enjoy doing? You will often find me at my kids’ school, volunteering. I love being an active parent in their school life. If I’m not at the school I will usually be hustling and bustling between my “mom duties” my cleaning job or helping friends or strangers in need. I have a very big heart and am very empathetic. In the summer you will find me and my kids usually at the beach or taking a walk through Beacon Hill as we love to feed the cute ducks there. I also love to take road trips up to Qualicum Beach to visit my grandparents. My grandparents were the #1 reason I had my kids when I did. I wanted my kids and grandparents to have a good decade or more together. I’m a die hard “Friends” fan, I grew up watching it and it helps put me to sleep now. I’m all about “comfort” and comfort items, as I struggle with anxiety and insomnia. I don’t let my anxiety define me but I do know how to cope with it. I always sleep with and always travel with my 12 lb weighted blanket, fleece robe, and chubby bunny (Yes, I am a 31 yr old woman who loves here stuffie 😛 LOL) and my newest obsession is an eye mask that is like a ‘magic bag’ infused with lavender.

I hope this wasn’t the most boring blog you’ve read of mine so far, I just thought it would be fun and interesting for you to get to know me a bit better… Until next time…